Weather Warnings and Baby Buddhas

Good Afternoon!

Today, I have been sat in the City Office all day as the schools in my town were cancelled due to weather warnings for heavy rain and mudslides. As I sit here looking out the window at the blisteringly sunny, clear blue skies, air shimmering in the heat, I wonder if the authorities in charge of making these decisions even live on the same planet as us. Oh well, I can’t complain (not too much anyway).

Today’s post is going to be a response to The Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge – Curve which I recently discovered and will try and take part in every week.

DSCF8508

 

This photo was taken at the summit of Mount Misen, located on the island of Miyajima just off the coast of Hiroshima, Japan. Miyajima is probably one of my favourite places in all of Japan, home to the famous giant red Torii Gate of Itsukushima Shrine and the Daisho-in Temple. The temple was founded by Kukai (the founder of Shingon Buddhism) in the year 806. At the top of the mountain stands one of the temple buildings, the ancient Reikado Hall (Hall of the Eternal Flame) which houses a single candle flame said to have been lit by Kukai and has been burning since its foundation. These little Buddhas are gathered outside the Reikado Hall.

I have chosen this image for the Curve challenge because I think the angle in which I took this photo is really interesting. It shows off the tops of all the little round Buddha heads as they all gather in prayer. The unique style of these particular Buddha statues adds to the curved aesthetic; big round lips and smooth curved ears and faces. I also really like the lighting here. It was a beautifully sunny, and extremely windy, day back in May when I took this photo. The way the sunlight casts down onto the Buddha’s faces as they close their eyes in prayer, makes it look like they are all basking in the warm light of the sun.

If you ever get the chance, I do urge you to visit Miyajima at some point in your life. It is such a beautiful part of Japan with fantastic views of the Seto Inland Sea, deliciously fresh oysters and countless deer roaming free on the streets (much like the deer of Nara if you have ever seen them).

Don’t forget, you can always follow me on Instagram if  you just want to see photos without reading all my rambling thoughts.

I’ll leave you with some more photos of Miyajima below.

See you later!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Weather Warnings and Baby Buddhas

  1. I love your blogs, thank you! It is showing me aspects of Japan I had not considered. glad you enjoyed your time there
    Best wishes
    Brenda

    Like

Leave a Reply

